Board of Directors

The Local Independent Online News Publishers association is governed by a Board of Directors, who guide the organization to best serve its members and fulfill its mission.

The Board of Directors of LION is:

Founding Board members

The LION Board evolved from a Steering Committee that guided the first steps of the organization through mid-2012, when the first Board of Directors was formed. The Founding Directors included:

  • Ned Berke,, 2012-2015
  • Glenn Burkins,, 2012-2013
  • Scott Brodbeck, ARLNow,com, 2012-
  • Gerard DeMarco,, 2012-2014
  • Mike Fourcher,, 2012
  • Ikaika Hussey, The Hawaii Independent, 2012-2014
  • Ben Ilfeld,, 2012-2013
  • Krystal Knapp,, 2012-2014
  • Charlotte-Ann Lucas, NowCastSA, 2012-
  • Howard Owens,, 2012-2015
  • Jesus Sanchez,, 2012-2015
  • Dylan Smith,, 2012-

Former Board members

Other former directors include:

  • Brandy Tuzon Boyd, The Natomas Buzz, 2012-2014
  • Denise Civiletti,, 2013-2014
  • Traven Rice, The Lo-Down, 2015-2017
  • Brian Wheeler, Charlottesville Tomorrow, 2015-2018

Steering Committee

The LION Steering Committee, which helped plan the first steps of the organization, also included: